New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission was incorporated under the Electric Power Act, 1920. Generating stations owned by the Commission at Mar. 31, 1964 were as follows:—

Plant	Type	Capacity	Plant	Type	Capacity
		hp.			hp.
Grand Falls Musquash Tobique Beechwood Milltown Grand Lake	Hydro Hydro Hydro Hydro	9,320 27,000 145,000 4,200	Courtenay Bay	Steam Steam Diesel	21,5001 43,6001 1,8601

<sup>1</sup> Capacity rating of generators in kw. converted to hp.

All the above generating units with the exception of Grand Manan were interconnected in a province-wide grid system. The statistical information given in Table 13 shows the growth of the Commission's undertakings since 1960. Power plant construction under way in New Brunswick during 1963 is outlined at p. 608.

13.—Growth of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1960-64

Item	1960	1961	1962	1963	1964
High-voltage transmission linemiles	1,396	1,585	1,744	1,845	1,947
Distribution line "	7,512	7,905	7,996	8,390	8,447
Direct customers No.	100,475	103,029	107,415	117,073	118,443
Plant capacities hp.	346,180	346,180	412,715	454,450	535,180
Power generated (incl. purchases) kwh.	1,184,798,350	1,273,719,910	1,425,489,140	1,644,740,890	1,797,928,340
Capital invested \$	132,844,276	148,280,363	156,190,514	170,859,403	184,956,439
Revenue\$	16,665,153	18,971,596	20,309,856	22,591,554	24,650,853

Quebec.—Stream and Reservoir Control.—The Quebec Streams Commission was created in 1910 (SQ 1910, c. 5) and given additional powers in 1912 (RSQ 1925, c. 46) and 1930 (SQ 1930, c. 34); it was authorized to ascertain the water resources of the province, to make recommendations regarding their control, and to construct and operate certain storage dams to regulate the flow of streams. On Apr. 1, 1955, the Commission was abolished and its powers and attributions transferred to the Hydraulic Resources Department, now the Department of Natural Resources. The rivers controlled by the Commission at the time of transfer, either by means of dams on the rivers or by regulating the outflow of lakes at the headwaters, were: the St. Maurice, the Gatineau, the Lièvre, the St. Francis, the Chicoutimi, the Au Sable and the Métis. The Commission also operated nine reservoirs on North River, two in the watershed of the Ste. Anne de Beaupré River, and one at the outlet of Lake Morin on Rivière du Loup (lower).

Storage reservoirs otherwise controlled or operated are: the Lake St. John, the Lake Manouane and Passe Dangereuse on the Peribonca River controlled by the Aluminum Company of Canada; the Onatchiway on the Shipshaw River controlled by Price Brothers and Company Limited; Memphremagog Lake on the Magog River controlled by the Dominion Textile Company; and Témiscamingue and Quinze Lakes on the Ottawa River controlled by the federal Department of Public Works. Storage reservoirs under the control of the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission are: the Témiscouata Lake on the